The bank for a changing world

AXA and BNP Paribas to renew their 2005 agreement

  • 06.08.2010
Consistent with their long-standing relationship over many years through various industrial projects, BNP Paribas and AXA have reaffirmed the desire of the two Groups to pursue their partnership by renewing the current agreement between them dated December 15, 2005.

In this context, BNP Paribas and AXA confirm that, on August 5, 2010, they concluded a new agreement for a period of 3 years which will automatically renew for successive one year periods thereafter.

This new agreement includes the principal terms of the 2005 agreement. However, in order to take into account anticipated regulatory developments for financial institutions, BNP Paribas and AXA have not extended their respective commitments to maintain minimum cross shareholding participations, even though they currently do not contemplate unwinding them.

About BNP Paribas
BNP Paribas ( is one of the six strongest banks in the world* and the largest bank in the eurozone by deposits. With a presence in more than 80 countries and more than 200,000 employees, including 160,000 in Europe, BNP Paribas is a leading European provider of financial services on a worldwide scale. It ranks highly in its three core activities: Retail Banking, Investment Solutions and Corporate & Investment Banking. In Retail Banking, the Group has four domestic markets: Belgium, France, Italy and Luxembourg. BNP Paribas is rolling out its integrated model across the Europe-Mediterranean zone and boasts a large network in the United States. BNP Paribas Personal Finance is the leader in consumer lending in Europe. In its Corporate & Investment Banking and Investment Solutions activities, BNP Paribas also enjoys top positions in Europe and solid and fast-growing businesses in Asia.
* Rated AA by Standard & Poor's i.e. 3rd rating level on a scale of 22.
Press contact(s)
Press contacts

Antoine Sire +33 1 40 14 21 06 antoine.sire [at] bnpparibas (dot) com
Carine Lauru +33 1 42 98 13 36 carine.lauru [at] bnpparibas (dot) com
Christelle Maldague +33 1 42 98 56 48 christelle.maldague [at] bnpparibas (dot) com
Isabelle Wolff +33 1 57 43 89 26 isabelle.wolff [at] bnpparibas (dot) com
Pascal Henisse +33 1 40 14 65 14 pascal.henisse [at] bnpparibas (dot) com
Ilias Catsaros +33 1 43 16 82 04 ilias.catsaros [at] bnpparibas (dot) com