The bank for a changing world

New Appointment

  • 08.12.2011
Lars Machenil is appointed Chief Financial Officer for the BNP Paribas Group, effective from the 1st March 2012. He will succeed Philippe Bordenave, who was appointed Chief Operating Officer of the Group on 2 December 201
Lars Machenil, 42 was CFO at BNP Paribas Fortis from May 2009. He joined Fortis in 2000 and has held several Board and executive roles for Finance in the Benelux, Turkey and Poland. These roles covered functions such as accounting, Management Control, Mergers & Acquisitions and structuring.

Before joining Fortis, Lars worked for three years with McKinsey in Venezuela, Italy and Brussels. Lars holds a PhD in nuclear science and an engineering degree in electrotechnics.

About BNP Paribas
BNP Paribas ( is one of the best rated banks in the world*. The Group has a presence in more than 80 countries and more than 200,000 employees, including more than 160,000 in Europe. It ranks highly in its three core activities: Retail Banking, Investment Solutions and Corporate & Investment Banking. In Europe, the Group has four domestic markets (Belgium, France, Italy and Luxembourg) and BNP Paribas Personal Finance is the leader in consumer lending. BNP Paribas is rolling out its integrated retail banking model across the Europe-Mediterranean zone and boasts a large network in the western part of the United States. In its Corporate & Investment Banking and Investment Solutions activities, BNP Paribas also enjoys top positions in Europe, a strong presence in the Americas and solid and fast-growing businesses in Asia.
*Rated AA- by Standard & Poor's
Press contact(s)
Press Contacts :

Antoine Sire +33 1 40 14 21 06 antoine.sire [at] bnpparibas (dot) com
Carine Lauru +33 1 42 98 13 36 carine.lauru [at] bnpparibas (dot) com
Isabelle Wolff +33 1 57 43 89 26 isabelle.wolff [at] bnpparibas (dot) com
Pascal Henisse +33 1 40 14 65 14 pascal.henisse [at] bnpparibas (dot) com
Julie Beuter +33 1 57 43 06 63 julie.beuter [at] bnpparibas (dot) com
Loubna Sebti + 33 1 40 14 66 28 loubna.sebti [at] bnpparibas (dot) com?Subject=" class="UnderBLU"> loubna.sebti [at] bnpparibas (dot) com
Anne-Laure Charron +33 1 42 98 36 90 anne-laure.charron [at] bnpparibas (dot) com
Julia Boyce +33 1 43 16 82 04 julia.boyce [at] bnpparibas (dot) com