The bank for a changing world

Press Release

  • 18.12.2008
Given the ruling by the Brussels Court of Appeal on December 12th, 2008, the acquisition of a stake by BNP Paribas in Fortis Banque cannot proceed according to the timetable initially envisaged.

As a result, the shareholders' meeting convened on December 19th, 2008, will no longer take place.



About BNP Paribas
BNP Paribas (www.bnpparibas.com) is a European leader in global banking and financial services and is one of the 3 strongest banks in the world according to Standard & Poor's. The group is present in 85 countries, with more than 171,000 employees, including 131.000 in Europe. The group holds key positions in three major segments: Corporate and Investment Banking, Asset Management & Services and Retail Banking. Present throughout Europe in all of its business lines, the bank's two domestic markets in retail banking are France and Italy. BNP Paribas also has a significant presence in the United States and strong positions in Asia and the emerging markets.
Press contact(s)
Press contacts:
Antoine Sire +33 1 40 14 21 06 antoine.sire [at] bnpparibas (dot) com
Jonathan Mullen +33 1 42 98 13 36 jonathan.mullen [at] bnpparibas (dot) com
Christelle Maldague +33 1 42 98 56 48 christelle.maldague [at] bnpparibas (dot) com
Céline Castex +33 1 42 98 15 91 celine.castex [at] bnpparibas (dot) com
Hélène Delannoy +33 1 40 14 66 28 helene.delannoy [at] bnpparibas (dot) com
Isabelle Wolff +33 1 57 43 89 26 isabelle.wolff [at] bnpparibas (dot) com
Pascal Henisse +33 1 40 14 65 14 pascal.henisse [at] bnpparibas (dot) com

Individual Shareholders contact :
Patrice Menard +33 1 42 98 21 61 patrice.menard [at] bnpparibas (dot) com