Back to press releases
  • Press release

Lycée Français de New York to Honor Michel Pébereau, Chairman of BNP Paribas

New York, NY—BNP Paribas is pleased to announce that the Lycée Français de New York (LFNY) will honor Michel Pébereau, Chairman of the Board of BNP Paribas with the Charles de Ferry de Fontnouvelle Award which recognizes distinguished service to the French-American community.

Michel Pébereau has been Chairman of the Board of BNP Paribas since June 2003, before which he held the combined role of Chairman and CEO. He managed the merger of BNP and Paribas creating BNP Paribas and became Chairman and CEO of BNP Paribas in August 1999. Michel Pébereau has been a banker for more than 25 years and started his banking career as Managing Director of Credit Commercial de France in 1982. He privatized both Credit Commercial de France in 1986 and BNP in 1993, and became Chairman and CEO of both following their privatizations. His extensive career also includes his position as Chairman of the European Banking Federation since 2004 and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the French Aspen Institute. He was as well Chairman of the French Banking Federation. Mr. Pébereau is a member of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York as well as a member of the Monetary Authority of Singapore's International Advisory Panel. He was President of the International Monetary Conference in 2004.

Lycée Français de New York is a non-profit, independent private coeducational and bilingual institution. The school is chartered by the Regents of the University of the State of New York, and accredited by the French Ministry of National Education and by The New York State Association of Independent Schools (NYSAIS.)
Located on the Upper East Side of Manhattan, LFNY educates over 1000 students representing over 50 nationalities, from early childhood through high school. The LFNY's mission is to prepare its students to be responsible citizens equipped for the world of tomorrow.

On Friday, February 3, The Lycée Français de New York will host its Annual Gala at Cipriani 42nd Street. During the event, themed 1001 Nights, Michel Pebereau will receive the Charles de Ferry de Fontnouvelle Award. Funds generated by the event will be used to further academic initiatives, fine arts programs, intramural athletics and scholarships.

The Gala Honorary Committee consists of Lance Armstrong, Laurent Attal, Guillaume Bébéar, H. E. Lakhadar Brahimi, Annie Cohen Solal, Jennifer and James Conlon, Charlelie Couture, Robert Couturier, Sheryl Crow, Patrick Demarchelier, Jane and Michael Eisner, Susan Fales-Hill, Ciara and Massimo Ferragamo, Michel Gondry, James Ivory, Agnès Jaoui, Ambassador Raymond Loretan and Mme Carol de Quay-Loretan, Michael and Jamie Lynton, Jean Marc Moriani, IM Pei, François Pinault, Marie Eugènie de Pourtalès, Jane and Alfred Ross, Edmond and Marielle Safra, Pierre -Christian and Marie-Louise Taittinger, Sydney Toledano, Michel David-Weill, Robin Williams.

About BNP Paribas
BNP Paribas ( is a European leader in banking and financial services, with a significant and growing presence in the United States and leading positions in Asia. BNP Paribas is the first bank in the Euro zone in terms of net income (2004). The group has one of the largest international banking networks, a presence in over 85 countries and employs more than 105 000 employees, including approximately 80,000 in Europe. BNP Paribas enjoys key positions in its three core businesses: Corporate and Investment Banking, Asset management & Services and Retail Banking.