Back to press releases
  • Press release

BNP Paribas combines the activities of B*capital and Cortal Consors as of January 1st, 2005

The BNP Paribas group combines the activities of its brokerage firm B*capital, specialized in stock consulting and management, with its Cortal Consors business, its subsidiary specialized in savings and on-line trading.
With this move, B*capital accelerates its growth in France.

The combination of B*capital and Cortal Consors will allow B*capital:

- to acquire, through the sharing of Cortal Consors means, a powerful transaction processing platform (conservation, stock dealings, coupons, etc.);
- to focus more on the quality of its consulting and management under mandate expertise, and therefore to be even closer to its customers' needs.

For Cortal Consors customers, "B*capital will meet the expectations of some customers seeking advice and more coaching in their stock investments", explains Benoît Gommard, CEO of Cortal Consors France.

B*capital retains its independence, name and values. "Its customers' accounts remain open at B*capital and the relationships our customers have established with their usual contact remain in place", points out Gilbert Locher, CEO of B*capital.

Since BNP Paribas is also the Cortal Consors shareholder, B*capital customers continue to benefit from the strength of the leading financial services group in the Euro zone. With this combination, B*capital plans to accelerate its growth in France and reach 4 billion euros of assets under management by 2008.

B*capital is a brokerage firm that offers a clientele of private investors personalized stock consulting and management under mandate services. With 11,000 customers, B*capital manages 2.5 billion euros in France.

Cortal Consors, a company of BNP Paribas, is the leading European broker in personal investing and online trading and offers to more than one million customers a complete range of products and investment services through various distribution channels. Cortal Consors is present in 6 European countries: Germany, France, Spain, Belgium, Luxemburg, and Italy.