The General Management and the Executive Committee

The General Management of BNP Paribas is composed of a Chief Executive Officer (CEO) plus two Chief Operating Officers (COO) and two Deputy Chief Operating Officers.

As Chief Executive Officer, Jean-Laurent Bonnafé bears responsibility for the management of the Group and, for this purpose, is invested with extensive powers. Accordingly, all operational activities and Group functions fall under his direct responsibility.

The Executive Committee brings together the General Management as well as 14 other members - Heads of businesses and central functions. They meet at least once a week.

Max Jadot

CEO and Chairman of the Executive Board of BNP Paribas Fortis


 After working as a legal counsel, Max Jadot began his banking career in 1983 at Générale de Banque. From 1984 to 1998, he held a series of posts as Branch Manager, Branch Network Manager, Regional Manager and Marketing Director.
From 1998 to 2006 Max Jadot was Managing Director of Corporate Finance & Capital Markets at Fortis Bank. Between February 2007 and June 2009 he was Chairman of the Executive Board and Country Manager for Fortis France. Prior to Fortis joining the BNP Paribas Group, he coordinated the strategy for banking and insurance activities at Fortis in France, with a view to generating synergies between the two businesses.
He was then appointed Head of Corporate & Public Bank, Belgium, becoming a member of the BNP Paribas Fortis Executive Committee.
Since 1994, Max Jadot has held a seat on the Board of Directors of Bekaert, a Belgian company specialising in advanced metals and materials processing.
On 1 March 2011, the Board of Directors appointed Max Jadot CEO and Chairman of the Executive Board of BNP Paribas Fortis. In this capacity, Max Jadot joined the BNP Paribas Group Executive Committee.


Max Jadot obtained a Bachelor of Arts (BA) degree in Law from the Facultés Universitaires Saint-Louis in Brussels in 1977, a Masters in Law from the Catholic University of Leuven in 1980, and a Masters in Comparative Law from the University of Georgetown (Washington DC, USA) in 1981.